35 Days in Europe

Search

35 Days in Europe

Search this Thread

Old Jun 22nd, 2011, 10:26 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
35 Days in Europe

I will be traveling to Europe, with my girlfriend, for 35 days starting in the middle of September. I spent 12 days in Italy a few years ago, other than that I have no experience in Europe. I have a lot of questions, but I want to start with Train tickets.
I am trying to find out if it’s cheaper just to buy individual tickets when I'm there, or to buy the Euro Global Pass for $1000 for 1 Month.
http://www.raileurope.com/rail-ticke...d-pricing.html
Here is my "rough" travel route, still researching where I want to go so it might change:

Munich 4 days - to - Vienna 2 days - to - Budapest 1 day - to - Prague 6 days - to - Berlin 3 days - to - Amsterdam 2 days - to - Normandy France area 5 days - to Bern or Zurich 2 days - to - Munich
Leaves me with 9 days to use on the fly.

I only like a rough schedule, I really don't like sticking to an hour by hour or day by day schedule when I travel, so I think the Global pass would be best so I can stay longer if I like. However, $1000 is a lot of money, so if it’s cheaper to get each ticket separately, then I might do that. Any info would help me out a lot.
Thanks,
Will
Old Jun 22nd, 2011, 02:14 PM

Well go to raileurope.com and price out point to point tickets. Buying from the train company itself will often be cheaper than using raileurope but that site will give you an idea of price and schedule (there are usually more frequent trains also, than those that are listed). It will also tell you how long the train rides are. For example, Munich to Vienna is 4-5 hours, Vienna to Budapest is around three, Budapest to Prague is 7-8 hours,Prague to Berlin is 5-6. I enjoy trains but I wouldn't do very many rides over 3-4 hours, certainly not the number you plan to do.