Search

1 week in France in July for hiking/swimming/photography/sightseeing

Search this Thread

Old Feb 17th, 2010, 01:37 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1 week in France in July for hiking/swimming/photography/sightseeing

Hi

We're a young couple (mid 20s) looking to go to France for about a week in July 2010. We don't have a car and I'm a lousy driver, so I would prefer not renting one either. We will be flying from London and would like suggestions on where to go. We are ideally looking for a picturesque place with hiking possibilities and great views for photography. If the weather is hot, we would like to be able to go swimming in a lake or such. We enjoy good food, but I'm a vegetarian, so hopefully somewhere that caters for veggies. A vineyard wouldn't be too bad either. We love sightseeing but don't need any tourist shopping areas or such.

Any suggestions? I have never been to France and know very little about various regions.
Old Feb 17th, 2010, 03:06 AM

I'm going to go off on a bit of a tangent and suggest that unless there is a special reason that you want France, then Cinque Terre in Italy sounds like the ideal spot for you. Cinque Terre is on the coast, the hiking is spectacular and the restaurants would certainly cater for your vegetarian needs. You won't need a car at all as you could fly to Pisa and then fairly easily go by train (I think) to one of the Cinque Terre towns. Anyway, it's worth a thought....

Can't really help with France though as we had a car and weren't looking to hike.

Either way I hope you have a great holiday.
Old Feb 17th, 2010, 05:55 AM