Cruise Ship Art

Old Oct 1st, 2002, 05:57 PM
sally

Cruise Ship Art

Can anyone tell me the name of the auction company that sells art on cruise ships? Any information would be appreciated.

Old Oct 1st, 2002, 07:45 PM
robert

parkwest i believe in chiago

Old Oct 2nd, 2002, 12:27 PM
Patty

Depends on the cruise line. Park West and a few other galleries contract with several of the cruise lines. Princess has their own in house art auction company.

Old Oct 2nd, 2002, 12:33 PM
sorryI think

Cruise ship art??? Isn't that an oxymoron??

Old Oct 4th, 2002, 10:16 AM
Anartist

As an artist I'm appauled at the so called art auctions that I've seen on these ships. The low grade copies and prints are hyped by the auctioneer as he tells you all about the artist in terms the average person would not understand, then suckers people into paying FAR too much for this trash. Most of what gets sold is bought by the lines for a few dollars a print. If you want real quality artwork visit your local art dealer, art school, college, etc. This practice should be banned, but as long as they can find a sucker...it will go on.

Old Oct 4th, 2002, 10:23 AM
gail

Who buys cruise ship art? Someone must or else they would not keep selling it. Would be interested in hearing from anyone who has bought it - just the thought of having to haul it home would be enough to turn me off to the idea, even if it were great art cheap. (Or do they ship it to you?)

Old Oct 4th, 2002, 01:23 PM
artlover

Please Anartist!

Do you consider an Itzchak Tarkay Serigraph to be a " low grade copy" I have had all of my works appraised at considerably more than I paid for them.

One piece has tripled in price, and mine was framed.

I think you will have a hard time saying it's a bunch of junk.

Artlover

Old Oct 4th, 2002, 01:25 PM
ParrotMom