Comparing ships-need your help please!

Sep 18th, 2000, 06:09 PM
Patsy

Comparing ships-need your help please!

We're planning a European cruise. I was leaning towards the Radisson Navigator (7 day) but now am leaning towards a 12 day cruise. Princess goes from Barcelona to Istanbul (it will be on the Golden but this is the sister ship to the Grand) but Celebrity has something similar on the Millinium....has anyone been on both (Millinium and Grand) who could offer some comparisons??? (Or should we go back to the 7 day on the Navigator??) Help, I'm getting frustrated! Patsy
P.S. We love HAL if this let's you know where we're coming from.

Sep 23rd, 2000, 07:58 PM
Paul Therault

Dear Patsy,

I am a travel agent and have sailed most ships.

I have been on the Grand and found it to be the most beautiful ship in the world. Excellent itinerary.

Millenium has not sailed the Med as yet but Celebrity is on an even keel with Princess.

If you love HAL it is a few hands above the two above therefore I would choose the Radisson. The only drawback is the 7 day itinerary (too short for a European cruise).

Let's go back to the Golden. I do not think you will be disappointed.

Paul

Sep 24th, 2000, 06:04 PM
Chris

Can be of little help to you BUT I would double check my facts about the Golden Princess if I were you. I think you're comparing apples and oranges here.The Golden Princess is very small(28,000 tons)and carries only 830 passengers. It was built in 1973(re-furbished in 1993). The Grand Princess and the Millinium are MEGA/NEW ships. Grand is about 3 years old and the Millinium was just built this year. They both carry at least 2,000 passengers and should lack for nothing except that small quaint feel(if that's what you like. Both Celebrity(fine food and service)and Princess should be fine cruising experiences.But Royal Caribbean might fit the build to(if they have your ports), and are right up there with there ships built in the mid-nineties.

Sep 24th, 2000, 07:54 PM