Alaska Cruise Travel Agents

Search

Search this Thread

Old Mar 7th, 2009, 04:05 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I'm new to cruising - only 1 cruise 3 years ago. I booked with AAA because I didn't know anything. I didn't really see a lot of benefit in using te agent - most of the information I could get online. Most of my regular travel I locate and book online so I know who's good and and who's not. I don't know about online cruise travel agents.

We're planning an Alaskan cruise in Sept (33rd wedding anniversary). I've searched online with Kayak, Crusiecompete, Carnival and Discover (we have reward points). I've identified seveal online agents that seem to have the best prices. They are listed below. Does anyone have any experience (good or bad) with any of them or others?

Cruises.com
Vacationoutlet.com
cruisevacationoutlet.com
Crowncruisevacations.com
Cruises-n-more.com

Thanks.
Old Mar 7th, 2009, 07:08 PM

I always use http://www.vacationstogo.com/ to check out prices and then use cruise-connections.com to book it. (I have used cruise connections for quite a few cruises and they have always met the vacations to go price and given me an upgrade)
Old Mar 8th, 2009, 05:22 AM
Original Poster

Have you ever used Kayak.com? Their TAs are offering a free 8-catetory update (I've never heard of such) and 15% off of all shore excursions. What do I need to what out for with this kind of an offer?
Old Mar 8th, 2009, 12:17 PM
Original Poster

Opps. I mean 8 category upgrade.
Old Mar 8th, 2009, 12:53 PM

Kayak doesn't sell cruises, they gather vendors websites and prices, something like cruisecompete. And if their agents offer free upgrade, most likely it comes from cruise line so you can get it everywhere. Check also [email protected], it is my agent I've been using for many years.
Old Mar 8th, 2009, 12:54 PM