Winter Cruises???

Sep 2nd, 2003, 07:19 AM
d43
Original Poster

Winter Cruises???

I am helping my Dad plan a trip for a late December early January cruise to the carribean. It's my Mom's 60th birthday. They are a young 60 and would like to be on a lively cruise, with good food. I have never been on one so I have very little knowledge on which lines and islands are the most preffered. If anyone can give some guidance it would be appreciated.

Thank you
Sep 8th, 2003, 10:05 AM

There are dozens of cruise lines to chose from, but I urge you to avoid Carnival Cruise Lines. True, they all pollute our oceans to some extent, but Micky Arison, the Chairman and CEO of Carnival pled guilty for his company to felonies and has paid millions in fines for their disregard of our oceans. They poured thousands of gallons of waste water from sinks, showers and laundry use into the gin-colored Caribbean waters, including raw sewage and oil-contaminated water. Carnival paid out $18 million for illegally dumping oily water into the Caribbean sea for at least 5 years before being caught. They had falsified their records to cover their trail. This past April, Carnival was once again ordered by a Los Angeles judge to stop dumping ballast water, which spread all sorts of invasive species into our coastal waters. Before going on a cruise, check out the cruise line's eco-friendly record. Why support one that's ruining to very ocean you want to snorkel in? Robert
Sep 8th, 2003, 12:14 PM

Sent you a nice long informative note and lost the whole darned thing ! Anyway, winter is not a good time for cruising in the Caribbean. Seas are too rough; ship cannot dock where it is scheduled to and people get very seasick. I'm sure many people have gone in the winter and never had a problem but I've never heard of any yet. Spring time is so much better ... after Easter break.
Sep 8th, 2003, 12:48 PM