Search

St. John, USVI

Search this Thread

Old Jul 12th, 2005, 04:01 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
St. John, USVI

Going to the Westin on St. John in a couple weeks! Obviously the USD is accepted in the USVI, but how easy is it to use credit cards (MC/V, AMEX) in the Islands (at restaurants, etc)? Would also like to know about the BVIs.

Thanks in advance!
Old Jul 12th, 2005, 06:03 PM

It's pretty easy to use a credit card in most restaurants, except for the smallest local places. Maybe a bit less so in the BVI, but not that much. I've been editing the Caribbean guide for several years, and the number of USVI restaurants I come across that take absolutely no cards is pretty small.
Old Jul 12th, 2005, 06:32 PM

I had the same concern about AMEX when I went to St. John in June. I used AMEX in every restaurant(except Grotto Deli-wouldn't accept) and at our resort(G. Point). Didn't souvenier shop much, but it was accepted at a few of those shops that we visited. I also used it for rental car.(Courtesy) I don't like to carry much cash if I can help it!
Old Jul 12th, 2005, 08:29 PM

Everything easy in St. John, Mon! Just about everywhere accepts credit cards including the foodmarkets and a very stellar wine shop. We have been to the Westin 3 times in 2 years and we love it there. But definitely do not limit yourself to the resort. Rent a car from O'Connors which is right on sight and tour around one of the most beautiful places on earth. The Westin is also the originating point of many fantastic trips to the BVI and the same is true there. It is all very civilized! You'll be able to use your credit cards almost everywhere but real hole-in-the-walls. Also, I have always relied on the kindness of ATMs and they are all over the Virgin Islands. Don't worry, paradise is well automated.
Old Jul 13th, 2005, 03:04 AM

Tuxedocat, could I have the name and location of the stellar wine shop, please?
Old Jul 13th, 2005, 07:58 AM