Need recommendations for chartered sailboat in BVI

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jul 10th, 2010, 11:33 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

We are planning a trip for Summer 2011 to the BVI with the goal of chartering two sailboats for one week. We'll be 15 in all (including 4 kids - youngest will be 4 years old). Looking for any recommendations/experiences for those that have chartered sailboats in the area.
Thanks,
E
Old Jul 10th, 2010, 07:20 PM

check the Moorings. We started in Tortola and visited Virgin Gorda, Peter Island, Anegada. Our friends were sailors and my then boyfriend (now hubby) and I were complete novices. The Moorings gave us the opportunity to stock the boat before we sailed, which was a great help. I remember the islands being very close, so each sail was short and gentle. We set anchor each night in protected coves (had to make reservations if I remember correctly, but no trouble). We swam, relaxed, etc... There are so many opportunities to visit all the islands, sight see, hike and enjoy good food. We had a wonderful time about 11 years ago and are thinking of doing the same in the next year or so with our kids, youngest 2.5. Have fun!
Old Jul 11th, 2010, 01:02 AM