Just returned from paradise - Grenada

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jun 19th, 2004, 05:31 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I am new at this trip report stuff so bear with me. We found this forum and the Grenada Travel Forum invaluable when making our holiday plans and would like to thank all contributors for swaying us to this lovely island.

As several folks have said this island is a relatively undiscovered gem. I am surprised that there are not loads of postings in praise of Grenada now that I have been there. Having visited many of the other Caribbean islands I feel I have a pretty good base for comparison. On the other hand I guess it really depends on what you are looking for. We were tired of visiting islands which have strings of hotels, shops, restaurants, overrun with tourists and have lost much of their charm. Over the past decade we have seen islands we once liked become overdeveloped and were beginning to think the Caribbean was no longer for us. Grenada changed that!

The Caribbean is alive and well in Grenada. We both said on numerous occasions this is how it should be - beautiful, friendly, slow in pace and not completely geared to tourism. While I do realize that we were there in June, which is not a popular travel month and therefore less tourism, it was also obvious that there would not be mass amounts of tourits at any time.