Caribbean, 1st time, 6-8 adults, 4 toddlers

Search

Search this Thread

Old Mar 14th, 2008, 06:01 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi. Caribbean newbie here. Considering big family trip to somewhere in the Caribbean in the low season (summer). 6 to 8 adults with 4 toddlers ranging from 2 to 4 years old. Thinking a villa rental is the way to go. Here is the WISH list:

-- Beach front is not necessary but beach access is pretty important
-- Beach must have calm water for the toddlers to play in
-- Would prefer a nice long beach (2+ miles) for walking; probably a pipe dream in the Caribbean since we are looking for a villa and not a hotel
-- Access to some shopping for the ladies
-- Access to some golf for the guys
-- Close proximity to some family friendly restaurants
-- Would love for the villa to have a pool but would love for it to be child proof (if there is such a thing)
-- Good hospitals/medical care in case one of the kids gets deathly ill or has an accident

Based on my research, while I think Aruba meets much of the above, I don’t think there are really villas to rent there, just hotels, which I think may be more expensive than a villa – fair statement?

So, basically looking for which island recommendation and which villa rental company and, if possible, which exact villa if anyone has stayed at one that they think would fit the bill.

Any and all advice is greatly appreciated! Thanks in advance!
Old Mar 14th, 2008, 06:53 PM

Sounds like Grand Cayman to me. Check out caymanvacations.com for lots of condo options.
Old Mar 15th, 2008, 05:37 AM

Yes, with a group your size renting a villa or condo makes perfect sense.

St. Thomas has plenty of villas (many with pools), golf, decent medical facilities, lots of restaurants in all price ranges, excellent beaches, golf and plenty of shopping for the ladies.