Search

Solo trip Canada

Search this Thread

Old Apr 6th, 2023, 12:00 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Solo trip Canada

Hi all!

My name is Joachim and I'm a 21 y/o student from the Netherlands.
Always wanted to visit Canada to explore its wildlife and wilderness (western Canada).
I think it's quite the challenge, as I would visit the country without car (won't have my licence long enough).

I booked a retour to Toronto for the dates Aug 19 - Sep 4. That's the only thing I've booked so far, so the rest is open for suggestions.
Not planning to stay in Toronto for long though, as I'm more interested in western Canada for the beautiful flora and fauna!
Secondly, I like to discover as much as possible. I'm on my own so I don't mind a serious roadtrip by public transport and domestic flights.

I've done a lot of research already (can never be enough ). This includes an itinerary as well which I'd like to share!

Aug 20
Arrive in Toronto

Aug 21
Visit the Niagara Falls (day tour)

Aug 22
FLIGHT Toronto -> Vancouver

Aug 23
Take the seaplane from Vancouver Harbour -> Tofino

Aug 24, 25
Tofino

Aug 26
A. VIconnector: Tofino -> Nanaimo --- Shuttle is on daily basis
B. Ferry: Nanaimo -> Vancouver

Aug 27[
Vancouver

Aug 28
VIArail train Vancouver -> Jasper (departs 15:00 pm)

Aug 29
Arrive in Jasper

Aug 30, 31, Sep 1
Jasper National Park

Sep 2
Brewster shuttle: Jasper -> Calgary (Icefield Parkways) --- Shuttle is on daily basis

Sep 3
FLIGHT: Calgary -> Toronto

Sep 4
FLIGHT back home

Additional information:
- Accommodations are no issue
- I can rent a bike to move around more
- Domestic flights would be with Lynx
- I do like cities, but highlights is enough - .That's why my stops in Toronto and Vancouver are short and I don't mind missing out on some things in the cities.

Disclaimer: I am aware Canada is a big country and I included a lot of stops.
Two domestic flights, seaplane, two big bus tours and a very long train is not nothing.