Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Canada
Reload this Page >

Part way through planning our June Canadian Rockies trip

Old Jan 1st, 2020, 05:16 PM
Original Poster

My wife and I are first timers to Canada from Australia. Were both looking to do as much hiking as weather permits, day hikes up to about 6 hours. Rain average is 16 days per month I believe, so wet weather gear will be constantly in the back packs.
Im a home movie editor with a smartphone stabilizer, my wife is a keen amateur still photographer. Lakes, mountains, birds and wildlife. Were expecting Heaven on a stick! Ha ha.Ive had some helpful advice from tomfuller re The Canadian, and so well be arriving in Jasper from Vancouver on June 10. Car hire was surprisingly inexpensive, even with a Calgary drop off, so Ive booked a car for a week and have also booked four days accommodation in Jasper.

The following three days will be spent near Lake Louise. Accommodation cost there is above our budget, but Jasper accommodation is very reasonable, and so the average for the week is less than $220 per night, with which Im comfortable.
Obviously we will be spending time over the coming months exploring which hikes we would like to do from both locations, allowing flexible options for the weather at the time.
After Lake Louise we will drive straight to Calgary and pick up an RV for the next 7 days of activity, totally unplanned at this stage.
Im liking the look of a Canadream DVC, enough room for the two of us, but still reasonably maneuverable, and able to be driven easily by my wife as well.

We will fly out to San Francisco on June 25th.
Any tips welcomed.
Im amazed and impressed how advice from the perspective of experienced travelers can improve trip planning.Thanks in advance.
Al.

Old Jan 1st, 2020, 09:41 PM

Are you spending some time in Vancouver before you board the Canadian? Stanley Park is a great place for hiking and photos.