Lodging for group in Banff?

Old Jun 9th, 2007, 08:42 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Lodging for group in Banff?

Hi,
I am new to the Canadian board. I am trying to organize a family( 8-10 adults, one 3yr old) get together for next summer and am considering Banff/Lake Louise. My DH and I will probably take the train from Vancouver and meet up with the others who will fly into Calgary. Any suggestions for lodging for this group? A house that would accomodate us, cabins, etc.? Where should we stay- Banff, Jasper or Lake Louise? Thanks for helping with this!
L
Old Jun 11th, 2007, 08:48 AM
ltt

http://www.douglasfir.com/
Old Jun 11th, 2007, 10:13 AM

Hi,

I don't have any lodging suggestions, but just wanted you to be aware that the train does not go through Banff or Calgary. It goes throught Jasper to Edmonton. Depending on where you'll be meeting the rest of your group and/or if you'll be picking up a rental car, this may be an important consideration in your travel plans.
Old Jun 11th, 2007, 10:21 AM

>>>>>>I don't have any lodging suggestions, but just wanted you to be aware that the train does not go through Banff or Calgary. It goes throught Jasper to Edmonton.<<<<<<

That's true of VIA Rail, ShelliDawn. If Leilei catches the (expensive) Rocky Mountaineer, there will be the choice of going to Banff or Jasper.
Old Jun 11th, 2007, 10:34 AM

Leilei, for your family members who will be flying into Calgary, Banff / Lake Louise will be closer than Jasper.

Ltt's recommendation of Douglas Fir Resort on the outskirts of Banff townsite is a good one.

However, where you should stay depends on how much time you have in the area, what sorts of things you like to do, and what your budget is.

If you and your group are keen hikers, the Lake Louise area is a better base. If you are town people (that is, if you like to be close to lots of restaurants, shops, spas, etc.), Banff townsite would be a better bet.