Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Canada
Reload this Page >

If you were to rent a house on Vancouver Island......

Search

Search this Thread

Old Oct 30th, 2008, 08:08 AM
lvk
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

for about a week next summer, where would it be?

There will be 5 of us, including 2 teens and a 75 year-old. We don't like to spend time packing/unpacking or checking in/out of lodging. We would like to find a place with a nice view, where interesting day trips are possible. We would like some activities (maybe kayaking or other water sports, a little light hiking, but no fishing), charming towns, sight-seeing and just soaking up the local culture.

The Sooke area looks interesting because of the possibility of daytrips into Victoria. I have read lots of great things about Tofino, also.

At this point, this is very tentative and hinges on the decision about another planned trip, so I am just beginning my research. I'm hoping that the helpful Canadian experts can point me in the right direction.

Thanks!
Old Oct 30th, 2008, 10:56 AM

Given your interests you might want to consider the eastern side of the island, somewhere north of Nanaimo. You won't have the spectacular oceans views of the west side but the east side is incredibly beautiful as well.
Old Oct 30th, 2008, 11:25 AM

Well, if *I* were going it would be Tofino, hands down! I can't get enough of that place ;-)!

But it's pretty isolated so daytrips to other places aren't really possible. So if that's really important to you the Sooke area might be a good option.

I'd suggest that consider you staying in Victoria a couple days, then heading to Tofino for the balance of the week.
Old Oct 30th, 2008, 02:02 PM