Considering year-long move to Canada

May 10th, 2004, 06:59 PM
Original Poster

Considering year-long move to Canada

I am a recent college grad who is considering relocating to Canada for a year or so.
Someone tell me why I should and should not go? ie; cost of living, transportation, nightlife, currency, job market.
May 10th, 2004, 08:14 PM
BAK

What do you intend to do for that year in Canada?

May 11th, 2004, 07:46 AM
Original Poster

I was in the process of mapping out a plan. I have enough money to adequately live for six months w/out work. So just sightsee, explore and meet new people in Canada. I will spend a month there before actually making a decision staying in the Okanagan Valley with friends
May 11th, 2004, 08:02 AM

ddonivon: BAK is right - it all depends on what you intend on doing in Canada for the year. You don't indicate where you are from. If you're from the US, the paperwork is somewhat less than other countries, but there are still strict requirements you must follow. I suggest going to the website of a Canadian Consulate. Just plug the term in a search engine such as Google. The Consulates' websites are full of good info.
Nightlife depends on where you go. The larger cities all have active evening activities (singles scene).
Job market: Probably not an easy way to get a job. There are visas for skilled laborers but it's far better to have a job lined up ahead of time since I understand that competition is keen. As for unskilled jobs (waiters, lanscaping, tourists sites, etc.) I've no idea if that's possible. Again, contacting one of the several Consulates in the US is advisable.