Best Areas to Stay in Montreal

Search

Search this Thread

Old Apr 5th, 2014, 12:08 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Going to Montreal in May. What areas of the city/region would be most efficient as a tourist? Looking to do tourist sites and foodie experiences. All suggestions greatly appreciated. Looking forward to my first time there!
Old Apr 6th, 2014, 05:53 AM

Good question, and one that's been asked many times. My wife and I have been visiting Montreal for about 25 years and have stayed in several areas. There are 3 primary neighborhoods that are best for visitors - the downtown, Old Montreal, and the plateau. They are all great in thier own way, but we prefer the plateau. The downtown is all about skyscrapers, big department stores, underground malls, big chain hotels, lots of daytime activity. Old Montreal is about charm, cobblestoned streets, lots of tourists, some nice retaurants and botique hotels.
The plateau is brimming with small ethnic restaurants (many byob), funky shops, lots of nightlife, and quiet treelined residential streets. No big chain hotels, but several small European style hotels, and many b&b's.
Do a search back for lots of info.
Old Apr 6th, 2014, 07:18 AM

Montreal has a very good public transit system so it is easy to get around no matter what area you choose. zootsi has done a good job of explaining the main options.
Old Apr 6th, 2014, 08:49 AM

http://www.tourisme-montreal.org/
I also stay in the Plateau, for its multicultural-yet-separatiste vibe. Main thoroughfares: St-Denis north of Sherbrooke, St-Laurent ditto, and Ave. Mont-Royal running east-west to the foot of the "mountain". Two wonderful parks: the mountain itself (designed by the firm responsible for Central Park in NYC), and La Fontaine. Towards the hill is a newly chic industrial area Mile End.