Traveling from Sydney to Melbourne

Search

Search this Thread

Old Oct 11th, 2007, 11:15 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I am a student that will be studing in AU/NZ for about four months. Some friends and I will be spending NYE in Sydney then going down to Melbourne. We are thinking about driving down, but not sure if this the best way to do it. If we did drive, we would have to rent a car, does Australia have laws that you have to be 25 to rent a car. None of us will be 25, the oldest will be 24. Would you recommend to drive, fly, or take a train or bus?

Thanks for the help!!
Old Oct 11th, 2007, 03:28 PM

It is not an Australian law but the rules of each Car hire company varies. It is more about insurance that anything else. If you are under 21 you will have real trouble finding a company but when you enquire tell them the ages of the drivers. You will be able to do this over the internet.The advantage of driving is the independance it gives you when you arrive and public transport is expensive in Melbourne.International students must pay full fare.
Old Oct 11th, 2007, 09:51 PM

"The advantage of driving is the independance it gives you when you arrive and public transport is expensive in Melbourne"

Well... I'd think twice there. If you're staying somewhere central in Melbourne parking may be a problem, and it's hard to see how a few tram fares a day could add up to the cost of renting a car.

Check the rental companies' web sites. The major operators are the usual suspects - Budget, Europcar, Hertz and Avis.

If you drive, it would be preferable to overnight somewhere. The main advantage would be the opportunity to see some of the Australian countryside, although the most dircet route (the Hume Highway) is pretty boring. Use 'search' to check past threads on this subject.

If you don't want to be bothered with wheels, you may be able to score cheap fares with one or more of the three major airlines - Qantas, Virgin Blue and Jetstar.