South Island Christmas Trip 2018

Old Jan 23rd, 2018, 03:41 PM
Original Poster

South Island Christmas Trip 2018

Hello!
I'm just getting started planning a trip to the South Island over the Christmas/New Year's Holiday (Yes, I know - busiest time but is the only time that we can make it work with our schedules). I'm really in need of some direction, because I'm completely overwhelmed at this point. I've read countless itineraries, and each one suggests something different.

Please let me know how this looks, and please let me know any issues that you see at this point.

Monday, 12/24 - Arrive in Christchurch and rent a vehicle - Stay overnight
Tuesday, 12/25 - Drive to Lake Tekapo/Mt. Cook
Wednesday, 12/26 - Spend Day in Mt. Cook
Thursday, 12/27 - Leave in morning for Te Anau - 5 hour drive (crazy??) - planned it this way so we could spend NYE in Queenstown - good idea?
Friday, 12/28 - Leave from Te Anau on day trip to Milford Sound
Saturday, 12/29 - Leave early AM for Queenstown
Sunday, 12/30 - Queenstown
Monday, 12/31 NYE - Queenstown
Tuesday, 1/1 - Leave early for Wanaka - Spend afternoon/evening there
Wednesday, 1/2 - Drive to Franz Joseph
Thursday, 1/3 - Franz Joseph - helicopter tour of glacier
Friday, 1/4 - Drive to Christchurch via Arthurs Pass
Saturday, 1/5 - Leave for home from Christchurch

I know I need to book accommodations soon because it is over the holidays, so I'm in a bit of a panic. Does this look feasible? Thank you in advance for your advice.

Wendy
Old Jan 25th, 2018, 12:21 AM

It looks a real rush to me with some very long driving days. Roads here are very narrow and winding and the driving takes concentration. I would leave out the West Coast completely and concentrate on the Otago area.