Mom & daughter trip!

Oct 13th, 2010, 05:36 AM
Original Poster

Mom & daughter trip!

My daughter(26) and I want to visit Australia in January early part of February. We picked those dates because we want to include the Australian Open in our list of things to do. We would like to snorkel the reef as well. I know opposite ends!! Go to the best zoo for wildlife that Australia has to offer. Thrilled about the Penguin Walk have to see that! Spend some time in Sydney. And anything else we must do with the time we have which is the hard part we only have about 13 days to give up. We both live in Texas so travel will easily take up four of those days getting there and back. So what is the best way to travel once we get there? Where should we fly in to start? And yes budget is tight she's a teacher and I am a bookkeeper for the family business. The airfare getting us there looks pretty rough right now on average $1800.00. Hoping that will come down a bit or maybe I am just not looking in the right spot. So we are open to suggestions on all the above and more.
Oct 13th, 2010, 10:17 AM

With 13 days total minus travel time of 3-4 days, you will have time to visit two...maybe three destinations at the very most. So...that would probably be Sydney, Melbourne (Australian Open) and Cairns/Port Douglas for the GBR. Does that make sense?

"Where should we fly in to start?"
Probably Sydney, although you could fly to Melbourne or Brisbane.

"So what is the best way to travel once we get there? "
By air, without a doubt!

Oct 13th, 2010, 12:39 PM

"zoo for wildlife" - this is a contradiction in itself but the wildlife you are going to see at the GBR will be PHANTASTIC!

As Orlando stated 3 destinations max!

How long will y
I would go to Mel first and do the Tennis thing - in between you can visit Philip Island for the Penguins!?

Proceed to Brisbane - a wonderful city and great life style. Or Sydney and Taronga Zoo. Strolling the Rocks etc.