HELP! Where to stay on the Great Ocean Road

Jan 19th, 2006, 02:12 PM
Original Poster

HELP! Where to stay on the Great Ocean Road

My partner and I will be traveling along the GOR for 2 days and we have no idea where to stay. We will be based in Melbourne, but plan to take 2 days and 2 nights to see the Great Ocean road. Can anyone recommend a hotel/motel? Should we book in advance? Should we stay at the same place both nights? I am a novice at road trips...thanks!
Jan 19th, 2006, 04:50 PM

We're also planning a visit to the GOR in late March. I've done alot of research and decided to use Apollo Bay as a base and take day trips from there.

We considered spending one night in Apollo Bay, and one in Port Campbell, but becuase the GOR is only about 160 miles long, we decided to limit the unpacking and packing and just stay in one spot - we added a third night because there seems to be alot to see and do in the area and we hate to be rushed.

As far as booking in advance, it will depend on the time of year. If you're going during Australian school holidays, you'll definitely want to book. Weekends also seem to be very busy, so keep that in mind.

As far as where to stay, I haven't been there yet, so can't help there, but we chose this place:

www.colonialcottages.com.au/
Jan 19th, 2006, 04:53 PM

These sites might help you in your planning:

greatoceanroad.stays.com.au
www.greatoceanroad.com.au/
www.greatoceanrd.org.au
Jan 19th, 2006, 08:44 PM