Search

Great Ocean Road, Victoria

Search this Thread

Old Jun 3rd, 2010, 10:29 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Great Ocean Road, Victoria

We just got back from a month in Victoria, Australia. I was there to photograph a wedding for a friend and to do some landscape work for myself. The wedding was in Sassafras, just east of Melbourne where we spent nearly two weeks. But the week we spent on the Great Ocean Road offered the best landscape work from the trip.

Most people who go to see the coastline along the Great Ocean Road tend to do it in a day or two, spending very little time in any one spot. We took a week to do the highway from Melbourne to Port Fairy. Most people would never spend that kind of time doing this stretch of the coast, but remember, I'm a landscape photographer. That elusive "Magic Light" only lasts for a few minutes each day and you simply don't pull a camera out during most of the day. So you plot out what you want to shoot at sunrise and what will be good at sunset, and plan your travels accordingly.

The weather was fairly good for the week, although the angle of the sun to the coast would have been better in the spring (September, October and November). But I was able to get a number of good photographs along the way. They'll be on my website in the coming months, once I get my new site up and running.

Accomodations were ample this time of year. At the peak of surfing season rooms would have been tougher to get and probably more expensive. And the wait in a restaurant would have been longer. As it was, we had no waits at almost everyplace we ate.