Around the World ticket help

Old Jun 14th, 2004, 07:50 AM
Original Poster

Around the World ticket help

Can anyone offer advice about around the world tickets? I have heard that this can be an economical way to get to NZ, especially since we would like to see some of the South Pacific Islands as well. I have searched the internet, but I have only found one site that offers pricing!
Please help!
Old Jun 14th, 2004, 08:27 AM

Hi there,

I hope i can help...I am a travel agent myself and know quite a bit about fare structures. Yes round the world tickets can be a cheap way of getting to NZ but only depending on where else you want to go.

Air NewZealand fly via the states and then you can fly back via Asia with singapore Airlines and Virgin. This is a Great Escapade ticket which gives you unlimited stops within a permitted milage. (Extra mileage can be bought as well).

Qantas and BA fly the same routes but you will only be able to get Fiji on this ticket out of the islands.

If you particually want to do the islands go with Air NZ, they have the best leg room aswell. You will need to call an agent to discuss prices. The internet hasn't taken that away from us travel agents yet!!! (It can't work out the round the world ones normally).

I hope this helps. Lina
Old Jun 14th, 2004, 08:29 AM

I travelled on a RTW ticket with the OneWorld alliance. At the time there were two major alliances, this one and the Star Alliance, both of whom count big flag carrier names amongst them. Escapade, I believe, is a third, a newer one with people like Virgin & Air New Zealand.

I flew London-Tokyo-(transit to Osaka)-Hong Kong-Bangkok-Singapore-Melbourne-(transit to Sydney)-Christchurch-(transit to Auckland)-Los Angeles-San Francisco-New York-London.

My ticket allowed me four stops in each 'continent', it cost around 1400GBP earlier this year.