Search

What to pack?

Search this Thread

Old Oct 10th, 2007, 02:31 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
What to pack?

I am leaving for Thailand in less then 3 weeks and i am trying to figure out what to pack. I'm going for a month and plan on traveling all around. I was thinking:

Clothes

2 pairs of pants (khaki like and nylon blend)
2 pairs of shorts (one swimming, one nylon/khaki)
5 t-shirts
1-polo (dressy?)
sandals (chaco's)
walking shoes
few pairs of socks
Compact Rain Coat

Gear:
SLR Camera, 2 lenses
storage device

Meds:
Imodium
Z-pak (antibiotic for diarrhea)
Acidophilus
Garlic tabs (mosquitoes)
Deet
Repel

Is this enough? Too much? Just right??? Any advice would be great. Anything you may add or take away? Also I am an avid photographer and wondering about bringing a tripod. Any recommendations

Old Oct 10th, 2007, 02:57 PM

The garlic will have no impact on the mosquitoes but it may keep your fellow travelers at bay.

Are the nylon blend pants and shorts are tropical wicking material? Have you worn them before? Personally, I prefer natural fabrics, but some people like the modern, wicking fabrics (coolmax, etc). Make sure you like the feel of the fabric in hot, humid conditions or don't take it.

I can't imagine wearing a rain coat in Thailand. If it's pouring, use an umbrella. A rain coat will be much too hot.

Also, you might like a light, short-sleeved shirt or two (often cooler than Ts) such as ex-officio.

You don't tell us exactly where you are going or what you are doing, so it's hard to give you any other feedback. You'll wear different clothes in Bangkok than at the beach.
Old Oct 10th, 2007, 03:08 PM

I suggest that you have one nice looking arrangement, perhaps a shirt with a collar.
Old Oct 10th, 2007, 03:09 PM
Original Poster

my rough route is
1. Bangkok to chang Mai, with a stop in sukhothai and lopburi.
2. then to the east coast and stops at ayuthaya, khorat, khone kaen, nong khai and ubon ratchathani.