TOKYO: INDEPENDENT OR TRAVEL PACKAGE

Search

Search this Thread

Old Feb 27th, 2003, 05:49 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

To all Japan experts out there: Is it really cheaper to buy a city package in Tokyo(4/3 nights, which usually includes bus transfer from airport, half day city tour and breakfast-costing over $400 p/p),or to reserve a 4/3 hotel directly and make your city tour and transfer from airport by yourself? Maybe I`ll extend one more extra night to travel to Hakone and Mount Juji. Any recommendation on the more economic way to do it?<BR><BR>Thanks
Old Feb 27th, 2003, 05:35 PM

I am not an expert, but I can speak of my experience to Japan. I was travelling alone and have no problems getting around the city by underground trains/walking. Prepare and read a tour book to design your own tours is even more flexible.<BR><BR>The shuttle/limousine tickets are available for purchase upon arrival at Narita airport. There are tickets counter right next to the baggage area. You can show them your hotel name and/or address and they will get you the right shuttle. If you are staying at one of the 4/5 stars hotels, they might have stops right at your hotels, otherwise, contact your hotels in advance for nearest stops and walking direction.<BR><BR>Hakone is a popular hot springs area. You can purchase the round trip JR train ticket to Hakone (and with day visit to hot spring pass) at the Shinjuku station. There are some &quot;travel agency&quot; that can assist you. You can choose which hot springs facility, assigned/unassigned train seat tickets and/or overnight accomodation at the agency. You can reserve after you get to Tokyo, one night prior. The round trip train ticket to Hakone with day pass to hot springs costs about $20 US last year. There are bus, or tram to visit several tourist spots and lookout at Hakone including Mt. Fuji. You need to plan an afternoon to do this. The trains usually takes about 1 - 1.5 hr from shinjuku station to Hakone ea