Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Asia
Reload this Page > To tour [India] or not to tour, that is the question.

To tour [India] or not to tour, that is the question.

Nov 14th, 2018, 02:46 PM
Original Poster

To tour [India] or not to tour, that is the question.

Some of you here may remember that I've been thinking about going to India, in fact I booked a tour last year but cancelled for a variety of reasons. I have thought about going it alone, [by which I mean using the services of a company like India Panorama] but I am put off partly because I don't really fancy spending 2 weeks or so by myself with a driver and various guides, and partly by the fact that I feel that for my first visit to India I would like the the security of traveling with a tour company. Perhaps if there were two of us it would be different [we did this very successfully in Sri Lanka] but I'm concerned about safety as a women by myself in India, particularly when I have no experience of it

As for many of the tours I see offered by Intrepid, Jules Verne etc. one of the things that puts me off is the speed at which these tours travel and how they all visit the same places which must be terribly crowded. Then I found a nature tour which adds in some cultural aspects as well bird and animal watching and another one which covers the some of the same ground as more run of the mill tours, but does it in more detail.

This is the tour which concentrates more on birding etc:

https://www.naturetrek.co.uk/tours/t...northern-india

And this is the more leisurely one around Rajasthan:

https://www.explore.co.uk/holidays/a...in-north-india

Any thoughts and suggestions you may have will be gratefully received. I am thinking about late Jan/early Feb next year as I'm already committed to the Valencia GTG in mid March.
Nov 14th, 2018, 03:26 PM