Tips in Bali

May 19th, 2010, 09:40 PM
Original Poster

Tips in Bali

Hi All,

It's my first time in Bali. I'm very lost and would need some advice on the following..It will be great if you can help me out. Thanks!

1. Getting around Bali:
Do we engage a tour guide or a local driver to get around in Bali? What's the average cost per guide or driver? Any recommendations?
If I decide to travel on my own, does GPS device work in Bali?

2. Activities in Bali:
Water rafting: Which river is better?
Surfing: Will you recommend those begineer course in Kuta beach?

3. Money exchange
Where can I safely exchange my currency?

Cheers,
Joey
May 20th, 2010, 01:33 AM

To get around generally you can use taxis. You can also book a day trip or simply engage one of the dozens of guys offering you transport. Your GPS device works everywhere, but there are no accurate maps of Bali AFAIK.

Rafting on the Agung river just outside of Ubud. Sobek Bali is the operator I can highly recommend.

Exchange money anywhere except at the airport. Rates are very close, but vary slightly. Note that US bills have to be "new".
May 20th, 2010, 06:48 AM

I'd recommend that you hire a car and driver to get around Bali if you want a day of touring. Driving yourself on twisty, narrow roads where the rules of the road are different than what you know is not my idea of a safe and relaxing vacation. A car and driver might cost you $45 a day.
May 20th, 2010, 07:54 AM