Search

Please help with a Honeymoon Hotel in Hong Kong

Search this Thread

Old Aug 30th, 2006, 07:56 AM
tod
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Please help with a Honeymoon Hotel in Hong Kong

I'm a newbie to the Asia Board and am hoping to get the same kind of fantastic help as I do on the Europe Board!
I love Paris but my son in his wisdom has decided to take his bride to Singapore & Hong Kong for the honeymoon.
We have good friends in Singapore and have been there several times but only once to Hong Kong. We hated the hotel the Travel Agent choose in Nathan Street ( very near the Bird Market alley) so PLEASE help me find a really fantastic honeymoon hotel for them - seeing dad is paying for it!
Old Aug 30th, 2006, 08:21 AM

I will just say this. If I'm on a honeymoon to Hong Kong, then I'll definitely get a harborview room at the InterContinental.

There may be better rooms at the Peninsula, Mandarin Oriental or Four Seasons, but nothing beats the view from the IC.
Old Aug 30th, 2006, 08:45 AM

No doubt, the IC has fabulous views. I loved the Harbor view rooms at the Shangri-La. They are supposed to be some of the larest rooms in Hong Kong. But have they finished the construction in that area?
Old Aug 30th, 2006, 09:13 AM

To my mind, the Intercontinental's location has the greatest allure because of the proximity to the harbor, but I have stayed at a much more economical property so can only comment on the public areas of the best hotels.

How would those of you who know the 5-star properties compare a high-floor room at the Peninsula (with views way above the bulky Cultural Center) to a harbor-view room at the IC?

Also, when the does the Mandarin Oriental reopen?

This is a delightful question. One part of answering consientiously is to ask where the young couple are staying in Singapore. What is their ideal ambiance? Would they like something similar in their choice of a Hong Kong hotel or a different experience?

Old Aug 30th, 2006, 09:26 AM