Renting Portable wifi and iPhone use in Japan

Search

Search this Thread

Old May 15th, 2017, 12:34 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I am not a techie so please bear with me. I have an iPhone 7 Plus and Macbook Air and will be in Japan for about 2 weeks. My son is there as a student and he was given a portable wifi device. I read that one can't just buy a sim card or unlocked wifi hotspot, and should rent one. I found such info here:http://www.globaladvancedcomm.com/pocketwifi.html I thought this seemed like sound advice, especially since my son's school lent him such an item. Global seems like a large reputable company--one orders the device for pickup at the airport, in my case Kansai, and then drops off in a mailbox. Does anyone have info about this? Would I still have to buy a SIM card for the iPhone? It looks like one wifi device supports several phones and laptops so my son and I could share it. We will be traveling to some places where wifi is apparently problematic, such as Naoshima Island and Nikko. My son said you can get wifi at every convenience store but have to log in each time and it is not secure, so if this plan works I would rather do this for us both. Thank you!
Old May 15th, 2017, 03:36 PM

The point of a portable hotspot is that you carry it around and it's effectively your both your access point to the internet and your router that directs the information to your phone. Then you use the phone through wifi only (no sim needed). You laptop (unless it's about 20 years old) has wifi.
Old May 15th, 2017, 04:20 PM
Original Poster

Thanks, that is what I thought. Now I "just" have to sort out the rental of the device.
Old May 15th, 2017, 08:38 PM