Help on Thailand Vietnam Question

Aug 1st, 2005, 09:42 AM
Original Poster

Help on Thailand Vietnam Question

I'm in the very beginning stages of planning my trip to Thailand and Vietnam. It is a very long flight from NY (my hometown) and I would like to stay at least 2 to 3 weeks. It seemed logical to go to both places. I was getting excited planning and decided to do a bike trip in Thailand. This is when I realized almost all Thailand trips are planned between November and February. After researching I realized it is because of the weather (it seems VIetnam's weather is fine all year). Here is my dilemma. I'm a teacher and can't take off for a couple of weeks during that time of year. I could go to Thailand for a week and then at a later date go to Vietnam, but that seems like a very short time for such an expensive and long flight. How bad is the weather between the end of June and early September in comparison to the ideal months to travel? Also, out of June through early Sept. which months would be best? We have been focusing on Northern Thailand. Thanks for any input.
Aug 1st, 2005, 07:21 PM

the summer is very hot and humid...i can't honestly imagine doing a bike trip in thailand even if i were in shape....i can imagine doing what some do around bkk for a day or 1/2 day but not for longer...

remmeber the worst day and nite you have had weatherwise this summer in ny??? well add 10 degrees to that and add lots more humidity and that is every day and nite in thailand, year round.....still interested??
Aug 1st, 2005, 07:22 PM

if you decide to go look at the new thai air flight direct to bkk from nyc---17 hours 5 minutes...the best time hands down
Aug 2nd, 2005, 07:34 AM
Original Poster