Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Asia
Reload this Page >

Great Wall - Guide or Hire a Cab on the day of

Mar 15th, 2009, 08:15 PM
Original Poster

I am a bit torn, should we hire a guide/driver to take us to the Great Wall Mutianyu and Summer Palace for a day in advance, or just find one the day we want to go. We do not speak Mandarin.
Mar 15th, 2009, 10:28 PM

Hi Jay,

Now that I'm a seasoned veteran of Beijing (see "Beijing for Beginners" thread), I can tell you with authority that you definitely don't need a guide to see the Great Wall and you almost certainly don't need one for the Summer Palace, unless you have a particular interest in having things explained to you.

I'll bow to the real Beijing experts out there, but my feeling is you could waste a lot of valuable wall viewing time if you leave it to the actual day to try to find a driver. We were lucky and got one without too much effort but I'm not sure how representative our sample of one is. I don't know whether all drivers are willing to drive out to the Wall or not. If it was me (and it was me a couple of weeks ago) I'd line up the driver the day before.

Cheers, P'chook
Mar 16th, 2009, 03:57 AM

We went by bus it was a great experience.
Mar 16th, 2009, 08:39 AM

For the Summer Palace you can just stop a cab any time you like (or take a bus or boat or metro).

For longer out of town trips where you want to charger the cab for a half or whole day, you need to be flagging down drivers the day before at least. Starting to look a couple of days before is best.
Mar 16th, 2009, 10:47 PM
Original Poster

Thanks guys appreciate your input, I have contacted Jade Leo who was recommended on this site. He has quoted us 800 Yuan for the whole day, Wall and Summer palace and acrobatic show at night if we have time. Does that sound about right for price. We don't really need the guide per say once we are at the sites, but a driver that speak some english would be a bonus.
Mar 16th, 2009, 11:14 PM