Getting around China independently

Search

Search this Thread

Old Oct 13th, 2013, 09:55 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

My husband and I are planning our first trip to China. I was thinking we could fly into Beijing (do a couple of organized day trips), then take the train to Shanghai (Where we would do some day trips that included water/ancient towns).

I am concerned about how easy it is to take the train from Beijing to Shanghai (or vice versa) My biggest concern is finding our way around the train stations. Are there signs in English? Are there English speaking information areas or English speaking ticket agents? Does anyone know of a private guide who could possibly take us to the train station on one end and help us figure it out or pick us up on the other?

Also, does anyone recommend a good stop between Beijing and Shanghai?

Thank you, Inor
Old Oct 13th, 2013, 10:06 PM

I have no first-hand experience with this, but we will be in China in March, so I've been doing quite a bit of research. My understanding is that there is an English-speaking window at the main train stations and that it is pretty easy to buy tickets. However, if you're concerned, I've also heard great things about China DIY Travel, which is an Australian couple living in China who will make any sorts of travel arrangements for you for a reasonable (~$10/ticket) fee. I have exchanged emails with them twice, and they've been helpful and responsive, although, again, I haven't actually bought any tickets yet because you have to wait until closer to the travel dates.

Have a wonderful trip!
Old Oct 14th, 2013, 08:16 AM
Original Poster

Thank you for your response. I'll check them out. Also, please let me know after your trip how things worked out.

Have a wonderful trip too!
Inor
Old Oct 14th, 2013, 08:50 AM