Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Asia
Reload this Page >

Fly, train or drive within India -- which is the least hellish?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Feb 6th, 2011, 01:15 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Against my better judgment, we've started to plan a trip with kids to India in December, hitting the highlights of Delhi, Jaipur, Agra, and a tiger safari at the insistence of my wife. The latter requires either a turboprop Kingfisher flight from Delhi to Jabalpur in the middle of Delhi's notorious foggy season, or alternately an overnight train which appears not to have the supposedly "first class" sleeping cars, but "second-class A/C" which our tour company advises is "still very nice". We Googled the Indian train system and all classes of sleeping cars looked horrible. We can't even get our own private sleeping car. Not exactly the Orient Express.

I wasn't into backpacker-style travel even when I was a penniless student, and I'm certainly not interested in it now, with children along. In the photos I saw, the train compartments were just disgusting -- toilets that amounted to a hole in the floor, metal racks on the walls with a thin layer of plastic padding for the bed -- and these were the first-class versions! It makes the Trans-Siberian look positively luxurious.

Our third option might be to drive, but reading some of the trip reports on this forum, it is not encouraging. It appears that driving in India, especially at night, is one of the quickest ways to shorten your lifespan. So hiring a driver to take us the 300-odd miles is also not a great alternative. Toss in the fact that it is inevtable that someone will be suffering from Delhi belly, spending 8 hours in a car is not my idea of vacation.