December Travel Reccomendations Needed

Apr 22nd, 2008, 02:13 PM
Original Poster

December Travel Reccomendations Needed

I am lost in booking a destination for next December in Asia. I have never been to any Asian country and would choose to see them all. I'm leaning towards Southeast Asia, but fear that seeing Thailand, Cambodia and Vietnam is too much to fit into 2-3 weeks. Any advice for the novice?
Apr 22nd, 2008, 02:35 PM

Hello!!! Well, there are people who knows a lot in all asia countries. In my opinion (Im not an expert, but Id like to help) it depends on how many cities you want to visit in each country; but from Bangkok you can easily go either to Siem Reap and Hanoi. I mean, you can take planes.

Good luck! If you have more details better for the people to help.
Apr 22nd, 2008, 03:17 PM

You're right, three countries in two or three weeks is too much. Asia lends itself best to slow travel. If you have two weeks, you should limit yourself to 3 locations, in three weeks 4 locations would be fine. By location, I don't mean a whole country!

So for two weeks on the ground in Asia, you might visit Bangkok, a location in Northern Thailand and a beach location (this is a frequent first itinerary to Thailand). Or, if you are more interested in culture and less interested in a beach, you could opt for either the temples of Angkor in Siem Reap, Cambodia or Luang Prabang, Laos in place of a beach location. Since it's your first trip, I'd suggest you stick to one country or two, don't try to do a "sampler" as you'll not have time to absorb any of the culture before moving on to a different culture.

If you can manage three weeks, I'd encourage you to do so. In three weeks, for instance, you could opt to see three regions of VN (north, central and south). Or you can plan a more in-depth visit to Northern Thailand.