China air pollution

Search

China air pollution

Search this Thread

Old May 27th, 2012, 04:27 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
China air pollution

I have seen a number of postings addressing the pollution in China but none in the last 5 years. We are going in late June, part land travel, part cruise. My husband is asthmatic and carries medication and inhaler.
Has anyone been recently, ie last 6 months, who can tell us what to expect?
Old May 27th, 2012, 09:43 AM

it would help if you were specific about locations????
Old May 27th, 2012, 11:04 AM

I can only speak to my experiences in Shanghai, Nanjing and Beijing. I have been traveling to China since 2008 and spent three months in the country last year.

As an American acoustomed to clean vehicle exhaust pipes and clean industrial plants, I was shocked at the high degree of air pollution, especially in the Nanjing area. If you hsve respiratory issues, it does not seem like a good place to visit.
Old May 27th, 2012, 05:45 PM

Is the pollution level different at different times of year? We will be traveling in October/November. I am also concerned as my husband has episodes of asthma.
Old May 27th, 2012, 06:25 PM

Late winter and early spring is the worst for northern China, due to the dust storms blowing from the west. Visibility can be down to nothing, and it can definitely be a problem for those with respiratory diseases. Summer usually is a bit better, but when I was in Beijing last July/August; it's still much worse than I've ever seen anywhere in the US, and I've lived in Houston and LA.
Old May 28th, 2012, 10:37 AM