Calling All Vietnam Experts: Itinerary Feedback

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jan 8th, 2007, 12:59 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hello All---My husband and I are considering a trip to Vietnam in Nov 07. We are thinking of the following trip schedule--Hanoi (on Hilton points) 4-5 days, Halong Bay overnight on a junk, and then 4-5 days Phu Quoc.

I am a Vietnam novice and was wondering about the following: I know to get to Phu Quoc, I would have to travel back to Hanoi from Halong Bay to fly down to Phu Quoc. Is this "wasting" too much time just traveling and flying? We have stingy American vacation time and want to maximize our limited trip days. Has anyone been to Phu Quoc? What is your honest opinion? From a logistical perspective, if anyone has alternative suggestions to Phu Quoc, it is much appreciated. My husband and I are in our early thirties and usually like a mix of city and beach and or/adventure. However, I should caveat that by saying at the end of an adventure day we like to come back to a very comfy hotel and good food.

Thanks in advance and happy travels to all.......
Old Jan 8th, 2007, 01:07 PM

I'm not familiar with Phu Quoc, but for the best beach experience in Vietnam check out the Evason Hideaway in Nha Trang. It was beautiful and luxurious, in an eco/robinson curusoe kind of way.
Definitely expensive, but worth the splurge.
Old Jan 8th, 2007, 06:17 PM

Hi friends,

We imagine your initial itinerary is: Hanoi - Halong Bay - Hanoi - Saigon - Phu Quoc.

1. Hanoi is the base for all tours in the North (including Hanoi's vicinity, Halong Bay, Sapa, Hoa Lu Tam Coc...). We must start and end all trips at Hanoi.

2. From Hanoi, fly to Saigon and then to Phu Quoc Island (no direct flight from Hanoi - Phu Quoc). So it is definitely not wasting much time just traveling & flying.