Bangkok Information

Search

Bangkok Information

Search this Thread

Old Jul 26th, 2005, 07:36 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Bangkok Information

Hi there, im just new here but ive seen a few of the posts put up.
What i was wanting to know is about bkk.
First time going in 2 weeks time for 4 days. We are staying at the marriot resort and spa and read the reiews that its meant to be quite good.
What iformaton i wanted to know is what bkk is like. is there info i need to know before going, like what to do, what not to do, what i must see, what i mustnt see, where the dodgy places are! Im really not going for the tourism side more to do shopping. Are there particular places which are great. the only thing i may be interested in doing is an elephant trek. is it recommended or does it take a while to get there as i believe it is just out of bangkok city or something.
Again im up for any hints and its my first time going. we are two girls 20 years wanting to have a really good time.
Old Jul 26th, 2005, 08:09 PM

bangkok is a huge city so it is best to have a loose plan in your mind before you go....there is tons of shopping, but it is spread out...so if you told us your sizes and the kind of things you are interested in we might be able to help...

you will love the marriott...there is no shopping there really except in their mini mall, most of which is custom made items...there are a few stalls at nite to buy local things...

there are huge shopping centers....much of what they have is available where you live and perhaps for a cheaper price....the markets are where things are cheap....they are sometimes frustrating as it is hot and crowded...

i would forget the elephants this time...too far away with only 4 days to spend...concentrate on your shopping...

there are 3 or 4 sights which you might want to do:

grand palace
wat pho
wat arun
jim thompson house