Bangkok for 2 nights

Sep 4th, 2006, 06:34 AM
Original Poster

Bangkok for 2 nights

Hi,
I am a newbie on this forum. My husband & I (mid 20's) are going to Thailand in February 2007 for 18 days.

We will spend 2 nights in BKK to start with. Please can you suggest itinerary? We're flying into BKK around 4pm so we will not have much time left on that day but would you suggest any activity that could fit for an evening? We will then have a full day free for viewing all the BKK sights, please can you suggest itinerary? Please do not include shopping.

We then fly to Siem Reap for 3 nights and return to BKK in the morning and have approximately half a day free before taking an overnight train to Chiang Mai. What would you suggest we could do?
Also is there some storage at the train station where we could leave our luggage?

Many thanks for your help.
Kind regards,
Katerina
Sep 4th, 2006, 09:19 AM

Where are you arriving from? If you are arriving from Europe or North America, you will be exhausted from the long flight and have jet leg. At best, you may be up for having dinner that evening. The next day, you'll still be battling jet lag.

The #1 place to go (and plan to get there by 8:30 am) is the Grand Palace/Temple of the Emerald Buddha complex. Wat Po (the reclining Buddha) is right next door. If you can see those three things in the morning, head for someplace airconditioned for lunch. You may want to return to your hotel for a dip in the pool and a nap before heading out for more sight-seeing. For something different that afternoon, plan to tour the Jim Thompson House. If you are still going, you might make dinner reservations at Bed SupperClub that night. You will obviously not see "all" of the Bangkok sights.

Note that there is a dress code to get into the Grand Palace complex. I assume you have a guidebook, do read that part carefully as well as the part about ignoring people who tell you the complex is closed and they will get you a tuk-tuk to a jewelry store.