Appropriate Thai Garb?

Search

Appropriate Thai Garb?

Search this Thread

Old May 4th, 2003, 09:24 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Appropriate Thai Garb?

I will be spending two weeks in a small village outside Ranong in the south of Thailand this May. This is my first time to Thailand and I've read that Americans should dress more "conservatively" than they are used to. My questions is, what is and isn't appropriate? Are tanktops or sleaveless shirts considered risque? What about two-piece bathing suits? I'm also wondering if maybe shirts and pants are better considering sun protection and insect bites. I would very much appreciate any suggestions on what I should wear so I can be both comfortable and culturally senstive (I will be doing volunteer work/physical labor and will be no where near a resort where perhaps foreign fashions are more tolerated).
Old May 5th, 2003, 12:36 AM

You shouldn't have any problem wearing what ever you want. Just be respectfully dressed(not too revealing like when you go to church on Sundays) when you are visiting religious or other sacred sites.

Ranong area is mostly Muslim so the women folks down there are quite conservatively dressed.

Your volunteer works will be greatly appreciated and I'm sure that the local population will take good care of you.

Old May 5th, 2003, 07:36 AM

Note that for visiting temples, you'll need long pants or a long dress and sleeves that cover your shoulders. Personally, I'd use those guidelines as well for your attire everywhere except at the beach.

Your also correct that a shirt and pants will be more practical in terms of offerring protection from the sun and mosquitos.
Old May 5th, 2003, 11:34 AM

We met quite a few Thais on a recent trip. In terms of dress they told us the following: