Search

air china

Search this Thread

Old Feb 25th, 2001, 05:07 PM
carol

air china

we will be flying to china this summer on air china,any info on this airline?????? <BR> <BR>

Old Feb 26th, 2001, 03:08 AM
Andrea

What would you like to know? I'm an American living in China and I've been flying on Air China and other local airlines for 2 years with no problems. <BR> <BR>Ok, there are some problems, like on domestic flights sometimes they play the sound to the entertainment throughout the cabin instead of giving everyone headphones, and Chinese people tend to POP the little plastic bags with a washcloth inside to open them, but other than that, IMO it's like any other airline. Equally safe, equally clean, typical amount of room, service fine, food fine, movies really old and bad, etc. <BR> <BR>If you happen to be flying from Europe, you might be REALLY lucky and be on a code share with Air France. We did that once and it was GREAT (Air France plane one way).

Old Feb 26th, 2001, 04:51 AM
Michael

I've flown Air China several times also. They have been operating for over 40 years without an accident or major incident. As Andrea said, conditions on the airplane may not be "up to western standards", however they will get you there, and most likely on time.

Old Feb 26th, 2001, 06:59 AM
Les

Carol, <BR>Air China looks good. <BR>Check this site: <BR>http://aviation-safety.net/database/operator/CCA.shtml

Old Feb 26th, 2001, 07:54 AM
Emily

I have flown on the local airlines a number of times over the years and always had a safe and pleasant flight. The only surprises, as the previous poster has mentioned, are those little "cultural differences" that make foreign travel so interesting. Once, the flight attendant passed out paper bags filled with marshmallows for our in-flight refreshment. Another time, the co-pilot left the cabin to draw the numbers for the official airline lottery ... my husband won a manicure set.

Old Mar 2nd, 2001, 05:06 AM
mimi