36 Hours in Hong Kong

Dec 4th, 2007, 01:48 AM
Original Poster

36 Hours in Hong Kong

Hi, This is my first time posting. I was hoping to get some advice for an upcoming stopover that my partner and I have in Hong Kong.

We are spending three weeks in New Zealand in Feb, visiting his family, and stopping in Hong Kong on the way back to London. We only have 36 hours but I have always wanted to visit Hong Kong.

My partner has been to Hong Kong briefly and I have spent a good bit of time in Asia so we are hoping not to be too overwhelmed during such a short trip.

I am looking for some sightseeing/restaurant (or street stall) tips. We're keen to go on the Ferry and to go to the Peak but as it is early March, it may be foggy. In the event of a lot of fog, what else is a must-do? We are generally interested in soaking up the atmosphere of a place when we travel and so end up wandering a lot!

Also, previous posts indicate that the Hong Kong side is a better area to stay, does this make it significantly more expensive?

Sorry if this is a bit vague, its my first post! I'd really appreciate any tips. Thanks!
Dec 4th, 2007, 05:42 AM

Actually, there is a fair amount of disagreement about whether the Hong Kong side or the Kowloon side are better (more convienent) to stay, Personally, I prefer Kowloon, but Cicerone (who lives there) recommends the Hong Kong side. SInce you can get from one side to the other in a matter of minutes on the very inexpensive and scenic Star ferry, you are probably best off to spend your time debating which hotel ather than which side.

Look for posts by Cicerone, who has kindly shared lots of info about sightseeing, shopping and food.
Dec 4th, 2007, 07:13 AM