Search

rescheduling return flight

Search this Thread

Old Nov 7th, 2010, 04:31 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
rescheduling return flight

Hi,

Air travel newbie here just trying to figure out how to solve a problem...

My wife and I are flying to the Big Island of Hawaii from Kentucky for a couple of weeks after which she will return. Due to a variety of circumstances I don't know exactly when I'll be flying back. It could be as much as several months. Any travel veterans care to advise me on the most economical way to book this? If we both book round-trip, can I simply reschedule my return flight for a fee? We normally book through Kayak for the best price possible.

Any help appreciated!

John
Old Nov 7th, 2010, 05:42 PM
J62

You basically have it correct - book round trip for yourself with a return date several months out. As soon as you know your exact return date, you'll need to change the reservation. That will cost a ticket change fee (~$150 for most airlines), plus any difference in fare.

You might also just want to look into one way ticket for yourself. Several airlines let you book one way tickets without any one-way penalty. AA is one such airline. Then once you know your return date you could book a 1-way flight back home.

For the best flexibility you could use FF miles. I believe you can make date changes for free on some airlines - my experience is limited to AA.

Kayak isn't a booking service - you use that to search for fares, then kayak redirects you to whatever website is actually offering that fare. Sometimes it's the airline website, sometimes it's a 3rd party travel agency.
Old Nov 7th, 2010, 06:53 PM
Original Poster

Got it. Thanks much for the advice!
Old Nov 9th, 2010, 06:55 AM