Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Travel Topics > Air Travel
Reload this Page >

Orbitz or Cheaptickets or Priceline via Kayak?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Sep 16th, 2013, 11:15 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Normally I use Kayak to search then book through the airline's site, but this multi-city fare I've been watching doesn't come up there. The tabs on Kayak lead me to Orbitz, Cheaptickets or Priceline for this fare, I've never used them before and this is a bit scary.

Is this no problem or is there something I need to be concerned about? I realize the communication difficulties if we miss a flight or have troubles otherwise. I have used Expedia for packages but never for just flights, I might feel comfortable booking this through them, but they don't seem to have the low price that Kayak shows.
Old Sep 16th, 2013, 11:38 AM

If I can't book it directly with the airline, I don't book it. You can also call the primary airline and book it over the phone.
Old Sep 16th, 2013, 11:44 AM

We have used Expedia for just flights a few times, but only after all other routes fail. We've had no problems with their tickets.

But if you are not comfortable booking with an online travel agency, go to your friendly neighborhood travel agent and pay the small fee, if any, for the peace of mind.
Old Sep 16th, 2013, 12:35 PM

I've booked through Orbitz and Expedia countless times and never had a problem. But ... a couple of months ago I received a notice that a flight I'd booked on Orbitz had rescheduled, and the new itinerary was unacceptable to me. It added a six-hour layover. If I'd wanted that itinerary, I could have booked it myself for hundreds of dollars less than I'd paid for the more direct flights. Getting it changed was a NIGHTMARE.