Search

Oasis Hong Kong Airline

Search this Thread

Old Jan 27th, 2007, 09:09 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Oasis Hong Kong Airline

Hi,

I'm a regular on some of the other Fodors boards but this is my first time on the Airlines board.

I'd always thought that Asia was beyond my budget but I've come across some amazing prices between London & Hong Kong on Oasis HK - in fact, they seem almost too good to be true. Having done some digging on the web, I know that the airline's economy service is "no frills" & I also know that they had some difficulties when they started flying in October 2006.

On the other hand, based on comments I've read on TripAdvisor & Airlinequality.com, most people seem to think that they got good value for money. Are any Fodorites familiar with this airline?

As an aside, we're a family of 4 so, even with their bargain prices I would still be spending close on 1000 UK£ on the flights & I suppose I'm just a wee bit wary that such a new airline might not last the distance
(financially, I mean!!)

Can anyone advise me where I would stand if I made the booking & then the airline went out of business? Am I right in assuming that I'd be able to claim the money back through my credit card?

Thanks for your help - I'll post this message on the Asia board too.

Jim

Old Jan 27th, 2007, 09:36 AM

Received 79 Likes on 8 Posts
http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/showthread.php?t=617798
Old Jan 27th, 2007, 01:34 PM

Nobody knows about the long term, but in the timeframe you can book a ticket (within then next 12 months or so), they're definitely okay. They're adding new planes and new routes.

Startup airlines may fail, but most don't fail that soon.
Old Jan 28th, 2007, 01:44 AM

JJBhoy,

Understand the budget issue, but you might want to check the seat pitch, leg room/seat recline (or lack thereof)... Doing non-frill within Europe for 2-3 hour flight is one thing, no-frill for 12hour flight is another.
Old Jan 31st, 2007, 05:05 PM