Newbie FF - Help I've spread my miles to thin

Search

Search this Thread

Old Aug 18th, 2004, 03:23 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Help! I surfed on FlyerTalk to try and find my answer but I was to intimidated to actually post a question there SO I've returned to familiar territory on Fodors.

My husband and I have miles with Delta (13k each), Air Canada (10K each), Northwest (8k each), Jetsgo, Westjet. As well we belong to Triprewards, HiltonHHonors and GoldCrownClub.

I'm new to the Frequent Flyer Mile game and I need guidance before they expire...

Can I combine any of these miles together somehow to get a free ticket anywhere - we aren't loyal to any 1 airline we just fly whatever is cheapest?? Can I combine them to 1 airline? Will this cost me $$ to do??

Help! I'm stressed from managing all these points!!
Old Aug 18th, 2004, 06:20 PM

If you want to play the game, you will need to learn to play it right. What you have is a whole lot of orphan miles and you're going to go nuts (or broke) trying to keep all those plates in the air before they are ever worth anything to you.

Unless you're doing a ton of travel, I would recommend figuring out two hotel programs and one or two FF programs (MAX) that you can use for the great majority of your needs. Then concentrate your activities on those.

With Hilton Honors, you need at least one stay every 12 months or you risk losing your points. With many airlines, you need at least SOME activity every three years. The more activity you can concentrate in the lowest number of programs, the more quickly you will be in the chips and in a position to redeem rewards.

Combining miles is often not an option and even some cases where it is possible, you could lose much of the value in the process. (Starwood and Priority Club have decent provisions for conversion in increments, but those aren't among the programs you have listed.)