Having separate "connecting" flights

Feb 5th, 2018, 12:55 PM
Original Poster

Having separate "connecting" flights

Hello!

This is my first time flying internationally by myself and I have a question regarding connections.

I bought a roundtrip ticket from Chicago (ORD) to Berlin (TXL) but I wanted to buy a one-way ticket from Chicago (ORD) to Louisville (SDF) on the way back.
I saw that it was cheaper to buy the two tickets separately than together...

If I did this, would I have to get my baggage, leave the airport terminal after my flight from Berlin to Chicago and then re-check in at the counter and go through security for my flight to Louisville or can I go straight from my flight from Berlin to the terminal for my flight to Louisville?

Also, my flight from Berlin gets back into Chicago at 6:35 PM and I bought my ticket to Louisville for 9:04PM... if I have to re-check in, would I have enough time for my second flight?

Thank you so much!
Feb 5th, 2018, 01:41 PM

Hi and welcome to Fodor's!

You'll have to claim your bags and go through customs on arrival in Chicago.

Whether you'll have to go outside security to recheck your bags to SDF depends on the airline(s) you're using. Read this - http://www.flychicago.com/ohare/myfl...s/default.aspx - which might offer guidance. Basically, you'll need a boarding pass for your connecting flight. If there's a service counter for your airline in the area just past customs, then you ought to be able to get a boarding pass and check your bags onward. If there isn't, then you'll need to take your bags out onto the street and make your way to the check-in areas for the connecting airline.

2 1/2 hours ought to be enough time in the worst case, but if your incoming flight from Berlin is late, or there's a giant lineup for immigration, it might be tighter.

Last edited by Gardyloo; Feb 5th, 2018 at 01:51 PM.
Feb 6th, 2018, 08:21 AM