Search

Wilderness Safaris -- Guide/Tracker System

Search this Thread

Old Jun 14th, 2005, 09:57 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Wilderness Safaris -- Guide/Tracker System

Help!

Researching camps in Botswann on this board, I came across something in a post (from Rocco, I believe) that has confused me a little. He and then others mention that Wilderness Safaris do not use the guide/tracker system.

Then what do they use...does that mean no tracker? I'm not a total newbie, by the way, but come to think, I've only ever been to CC Africa lodges and Singita, where, of course, its guide/tracker, which I though was the standard across all safaris operators and lodges.
Old Jun 14th, 2005, 11:10 AM

The driver acts as guide and tracker, which to my mind, works perfectly well, having been on two safaris staying at Wilderness Safaris lodges in Botswana and Namibia. Two don't see twice as much as one.
Old Jun 14th, 2005, 12:43 PM

It depends on the skills and training of the individuals. A poor driver/guide and tracker combo can be less effective than a good single person.

We have stayed at quite a number of WS camps and have had, in the main part, exceptionally able guides who have astounded us with their knowledge, instinct, abilities.
Old Jun 15th, 2005, 08:58 PM

I second what Kavey said. My experiences at WS have been exceptional.
Old Jun 16th, 2005, 06:13 AM

I agree with Kavey and Napamatt. I could not imagine seeing more animals than we did and none of our guides had a tracker. They all did a great job finding animals listening to animal calls, looking for tracks, etc. Sometimes it was nothing short of amazing. They also rely on radio with the other guides so there's a lot of teamwork. Whenever you hear lots of Setswana chatter on the radio, get your camera ready!