When to go?

Old Apr 1st, 2004, 07:12 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
When to go?

Hi, I'm new to this message board and have found much of the information helpful. I am trying to decide when to go to Botswana and I think I'm getting hung up on the idea that I must go during July, August, or Sept. to see great wildlife. I'm not a birder, so it sounds like their summer may not be the best time for me to go. I'd love to hear people's opinions and perhaps let go of my worry...
Old Apr 1st, 2004, 09:10 AM

It may depend on how tolerant you are of hot weather. It is getting hot in September...hotter still in October. But October is the very end of the dry season, and thus a great time to see animals. (I don't think I'd go after October, especially for your first trip. Too hot, and a higher probability of rain.) The advantage of doing Botswana this late in the season is that you can tack on Capetown at the end...because October is getting into nice weather again for Capetown...

This year I am going to Botswana in late May/ early June...so I'll be able to report back to you after that... Are you planning this trip for 2004 or 2005?
Old Apr 1st, 2004, 11:08 AM
LizFrazier

It sounds like we have people going right along from this month on. Should have the bases covered for trip reports during this time period for historical purposes. Am I the first or do we have someone going to Botswana before the middle of this month? I just got my tickets today. Hurray! It really seems real now. Liz

Old Apr 1st, 2004, 01:58 PM
Original Poster

Tashak,