When should I plan a July safari in TZ?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Apr 2nd, 2007, 05:20 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

My wife and I are cooking up another Africa trip for July 2008, starting off with about a week in Cape Town to do some shark observing. After that, I am inclined to try to do something in Tanzania. Based on your experience, when should I shoot for planning this trip in order to avoid finding that camps/lodges/whatever are full?
Any other general-level advice, like particular areas to visit or avoid at that time of year, would be greatly appreciated. I have never tried to plan a trip to Tanzania before, so I am not well-educated about options there.
Thanks for your advice.
Chris
Old Apr 2nd, 2007, 06:27 AM

I'm planning <i>now</i> for my July 2008 safari to Tanzania. July is a fabulous time of year to do the northern safari circuit - gorgeous weather, few tse tse flies. The small camps get booked up to a year in advance, so it's not too early to plan.

I'd recommend you plan for 2 nights in Tarangire which is a beautiful little park famous for it's baobab trees and large elephant populations, but in July would have lots of other great game viewing as well.

In July last year I included the western, northern and central Serengeti regions in the hopes of catching some of the migration somewhere. We came across it in the western corridor, but of course finding it where you think it will be at any given time of the year is always hit and miss. Migration or no migration, we loved all parts of the Serengeti. On our last day (in the southern part of park) we saw a total of 21 lions. Generally, I'd say that the southern Serengeti has little to offer in July and I wouldn't recommend staying there.