What to do?

Dec 4th, 2005, 06:38 AM
kmo
Original Poster

What to do?

On route to London I will be stopping over in Africa,visiting Victoria Falls for a couple of days. This will be my first(and possibly last) visit to Africa. I have travelled extensively and lived in PNG for 8yrs but never Africa. NOW is the time after many years of saving but where to go? Being a complete novice I need help. Am considering camping safari in Botswana for 10 or so days and have been told that Wilderness Safaris is the way to go. Time will be around mid Sept 2006. Any suggestions?
I am rather overwhelmed but thrilled with all the knowledge of you experiences Bot travellers
can't wait to read some suggestions.
Dec 4th, 2005, 10:50 AM

kmo,

From Victoria Falls, you may easily connect to each Botswana or Zambia. There are many camping options in Botswana offered. Wilderness Safaris is one, as you pointed out, but then there are also other companies such as CCAfrica and Game Trails Botswana (www.gametrailsbotswana.com).

In Zambia, there are fewer camping options, but I believe that is largey becuase Zambian luxury lodges are more moderately priced than the luxury lodges in Botswana. With 10 nights in Zambia, you would be able to combine South Luangwa and the Lower Zambezi very well. Something like this, in my opinion, would be very nice:

Kasaka River Lodge or Chongwe River Camp or Chiawa Camp, Lower Zambezi (4 - 5 nights)(5 nights would qualify you for a nice "long stay" discount and you would not regret spending 5 nights in this very beautiful area)

Tafika, South Luangwa (3 nights)

Luangwa River Lodge, South Luangwa (3 nights)

Here are the websites for the lodges:

www.kasakariverlodge.com
www.chongwe-river.com
www.chiawa.com
www.remote-africa.com (Tafika)
www.luangwariverlodge.com

The average per night price for this itinerary would be about $400 per person per night sharing (high season) and is all-inclusive with 2 - 3 game activities per day.