The River and the Rain - Botswana 2007

Search

Search this Thread

Old Nov 26th, 2007, 12:41 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Okie - I'm a newbie here, but just got back from a great time in Botswana, so I'm writing up my trip report. I don't want to do this a load of seperate times for different sites, groups etc, so after the first blurb I've put the 'camp summary' stuff up front for each place and the 'general whiffle' for each day following, that so you don't have wade through stuff you don't want to.

This was a repeat visit to several camps and new for others, so I've tried to give an over-view about what I liked (or disliked) about each. The more 'high-end' the camp is, the more I think they should meet/exceed expectations, so yeah - I'll nit-pick on some of the camps' presentation/activities!

No apologies for the over-use of exclamation marks and smilies, the trip deserved it. Many apologies for the lack of good descriptions and poor English... time, space and my skill is limited!

Out-bound Flight - Carrying All My Baggage

Well - we haven't had more then a couple of days' break for a year - we're stressed, tired and need to be away from everything... Heathrow airport - shudder... but it has to be done if I want to get to Africe.

After some agonising, we've decided to check our bags through to Maun, so that we have the option to go via the transfer lounge if the flight is running late (yeah - I trust BA about as far as I can throw a Boeing aircraft!). We figure that it's more important to make sure we get there, then the checked luggage - and if we end up needing to run for the connection and our luggage is only checked to Jo'burg, we have no chance of getting it sent on. The nice lady at the BA check-in tells us it can't be done for local connections, but we explain that Maun isn't in South Africa, and she figures out the required airport code eventually... We wonder if we will ever see the bags again!